Team of the Year

EA SPORTS has named candidates for the FIFA Team of the Year. There are some oddities about the nominations: Coutinho is listed as a forward when he ought to be a midfielder, Robben is listed as a midfielder when he ought to be a forward, Busquets is missing altogether … you’ll probably have your own list. But given the established parameters, which mandate a 4-3-3 formation — though I might call it a 4-1-2-3, but I digress — here are my 11 (one keeper, two centerbacks, two fullbacks, one holding midfielder, two attacking midfielders, three forwards) — and not in the usual order by position, but in order of my confidence in choosing them:

  • Lionel Messi
  • Kevin de Bruyne
  • Marcelo (the best left back in the world by fifty miles)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo
  • Harry Kane
  • David de Gea (I might have chosen Navas or Oblak if I’d seen them more)
  • Sergio Ramos (we are not in an era of great centerbacks)
  • Gerard Pique
  • Luka Modric (barely ahead of Dybala and Kroos)
  • Casemiro (he’s amazing, but I hated leaving out Kante)
  • Joshua Kimmich (just squeezing out Dani Alves)

Your alternatives are welcome in the comments.